Doug’s blues album recommendation

Maria Muldaur: “Naughty, Bawdy and Blue”

As I’ve said before, I want to retire and be Maria Muldaur’s groupie!  Her newest, “Naughty, Bawdy and Blue”, is another of her traditional blues albums. 

Here she sings the songs of Bessie Smith, Victoria Spivey and others women of the ’20’s and 30’s.  Backed up by James Dapogny’s Chicago Jazz Band, MM sings them in the style of the times, classic Dixieland jazz. 

One can easily imagine sitting in the parlor of a bordello in New Orlean’s Storyville district and hearing the songs sung this way.  This is a fun, easy-to-listen-to, disk.  The double entendres will make you smile (and maybe blush). 

AMG Music gives this on a four out of five star rating.  I would even add 1/2 a star! 

Doug

2 Responses to “Doug’s blues album recommendation”

  1. Mad Dog Says:

    Doug, This sounds great! I too like Maria, even going back to the ancient Jim Kweskin & the Jug Band days of the mid-60s or so. Thanks for the tip, I’ll look for the CD. This weekend, May 25-27, is the 12th Annual Silver City Blues Festival. We’ll be going on Sunday to see John Hammond, Alice Stewart, etc. http://www.mimbresarts.org/bluesfestival.html Any double entendres that may be encountered might give a quick hint of a smile. I can’t remember what it’s like to blush. Sitting outside in the park in Silver City, I won’t get the blues but I may get the reds in the form of a sunburn from a fierce NM sun. That’s the price you pay. – Mad Dog

  2. Doug Says:

    Years ago, I had the very pleasureable experience of see MM live. The venue was small outdoor stage, sunny afternoon and a loving crowd. Oh, what a performance! I’ve been an avid fan since!

Comments are closed.


