J. Michael’s note

Hi Dee and Pat and fellow BALTAians-

It is with great sadness that I must confirm that I will miss this year’s festivities and seeing everyone’s smiling (if wrinkled) faces.

Because my wrinkled face has been in a fairly constant grimace from the pain of sciatica, I must find out how to correct the problem. I was convinced by several doctors (over the past 4 years) that my back pain was the result of my destroyed right knee but now I’m not so sure and I’m in the process of figuring out if knee replacement will cure the pain in my back. I thought I was very close to pulling that trigger but after reassessing things a bit, I am going to have some more diagnostic tests done to find out if my back pain is caused by something in my back or because of my altered gait caused by my bad knee. If I can determine, with some level of certainty, that there is nothing in my back causing the pain, I will go on with the surgery.

Since making it this far with the VA has taken over a year, I don’t want to be sidetracked with merry making while I’m trying to get all the tests done and surgery or no surgery decisions made, I must stay close to home. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking with it!

Hope you all have a great time-

Love to all-

JM

