Dee update and Donovan Baldwin

Thanks for all your notes of support.  Mom (Velma Wheeler) now has some pneumonia, but I’m hoping she can overcome it.  She still cannot eat or drink anything.  We’re taking it one day at a time.

I’m copying D. Baldwin’s comments recently received to a post called “Bad Aibling Today”.  I figure most of you probably wouldn’t notice them otherwise.

 ”Good to see the old Field Station again. I was a voice intercept op (98G2LGM) from Sep 67 to Aug 70.

Memories? The night the soldier driving back to post got stuck outside the gate, put his car in gear with a brick on the accelerator and got out and pushed. It hit the guard shack.

The MP’s trying to catch speeders by hiding behind a tree with a stopwatch to measure how long it took to cross two white lines painted on the road.

The night some guys returned from Rosenheim a little the worse for wear and decided to try some midnight basketball at the gym. Unknown to them, part of the parking lot had been converted to an ice skating rink earlier in the day.

Sitting in my buddy’s barracks room singing along with “Alice’s Restaurant”.

Being greeted by a lady I had known in Monterey who had come to Bad Aibling to marry one of my friends. I never told him what I knew about her.

The ham and swiss sandwiches at midnight in the snack bar at the facility.

The night the MP went nuts and fired rounds in the air because people were walking on the grass.

Glad we could serve our country.

Don (OP Sine Sierra Tango)”

