Visit to Bad Aibling

Hi guys,

Ty and I arrived in Bad Aibling not too long ago and before checking into the hotel, we drove to the old base to check things out.

We first pulled up to a German guard and gate, and when I asked if this used to be the old American base, he told me to go up the road some more.  He said he thought it was ok for us to look around.

I didn’t know there was a German station there. Was it there in 1968?   We drove up further and found another gate which was open with some ominous looking signs that might have meant private or whatever, but we went in anyway.

The road took us straight to the round domes, which I thought used to be satellite radar dishes. We passed a fairly decent “tennis court” and another one that was completely run down with weeds and grass growing within it.

I took pictures. I’m not sure, but I think your tennis courts may have been the one grown up with weeds. We then drove up the road where the bowling alley, teen center and Commissary used to be, then to the snack bar, and beyond to the barracks.

All in all, I took about 120 pictures, but will have to wait until I get home to upload that amount of photos.

I found the the new hotel that was in the newspaper clipping you sent
me, and there’s a daycare center close to the main entrance. The
main entrance doesn’t have a gate anymore. It looks like they’re
making apartments out of a few of the barracks.

The outside of the snack bar looks the same with the steps and all. The inside of the snack bar is completely renovated, and it looks like they’re making it a bar or something. We didn’t go inside anything except for the snackbar and there were workman there.

Through the windows of one the barrack doors was a big emblem on the wall that read “truth conquers”. Do you remember that?  I tried to get pictures of every building.

Through the windows of the commissary were the same ramps and entrance doors, and the old commissary hours of operation. The teen center looked the same. The officer’s homes close to the main entrance were still intact, but the trees and bushes and grass were overtaking everything.

The flag pole is still there in the green center. Someone mows that green center area. Most of the base is grown up with weeds and looks like its been uninhabited for a long time.

Bad Aibling looks different to me. There are many modern looking
buildings. While traveling around Garmisch, many of the towns looked
very touristy. I don’t remember that from before. It certainly has
changed.

We went to where the American hotel was at Eibsee close to
Garmisch. It used to be called the General Walker Hotel. I asked
the girl at the front desk what the history was of their hotel, and
she said that it was an American Hotel up until 1979. Now it’s a
really ritzy place and very posh for the wealthy Germans. I had to
ask permission to go in and take a look around.

Tomorrow we’ll head a little north to Kleinhohenrain (about 7 km) and
see my old home. The countryside is absolutely beautiful. I love
the huge farm houses with their barns attached to the main house.

We stay tonight and tomorrow night, and then we head to Berchestgaden.

Can’t wait to share my photos with you all.

Julie

(Next is Julie’s original comment on Balta blog.)

Hi,

My husband and I are getting ready to take a trip to Bad Aibling (in two weeks), so I decided to google the place and see what was on the internet. Your blog site came up and surprised me . I was in Bad Aibling from 1968 to 1970. My father was Richard Young who was part of Project Wildbore. I haven’t been back since 1970 and wanted to find out if you could still visit the station, if anyone was there, or if it was completely locked up. I’ve read that it has closed.

Does anyone remember much about the Wildbore group? Our family lived off-base in a little town called Kleinhohenrain, but we had base privileges and went to the American high school in Munich. We took the Army bus to get there from BAS. I remember hanging out in a cafeteria, going to the movies, using their dark room to develop pictures, going to the teen center for dances, and visiting school friends in their homes on base. I know no one is going to know me, but it would be nice to find out if anyone knew some of the people my father worked with. It would be nice to connect with them if possible.

I’m really looking forward to revisiting the area and seeing Garmisch, Berchesdaden, Munich, Chiemsee and other towns in the area. I expect to see a lot of changes since 1970. I was only a teenager then, and have wanted to go back for years. Our family had the best time living there. It sounds like others feel the same way from what I’ve found on the web.

Thanks for letting me comment on your site. It’s been fun reading other comments from people who have been there.

Julie (Young) Rhodes

10 Responses to “Visit to Bad Aibling”

  1. BOB MORRISSEY Says:

    Can’t wait to see your pictures on BA , WAS THERE FROM 63-65-

  2. Maynard Peterie Says:

    Hello,
    I also worked on Wildbore. I don’t remember Richard Young. I was there at the same time. 68-71 and was one of the young military guys there. Maybe he remembers me. It was a wonderful time and place to be. Look up Bad Aibling Station on the web. Good info there. If I can help you, don’t hesitate to contact me.
    CUL.
    Maynard

    • kerry vandegrift Says:

      Maynard–your email gets kicked back to me–send new one, bitte. Did you see the info on this year’s reunion?? Any chance you might show up??

      Kerry

  3. Julie (Young) Rhodes Says:

    Hi Maynard,

    What kind of work did you do while working for Wildbore? My father passed away this past May, but may have remembered you. Its hard to say. About how many people were involved in that project, do you know? Exactly what was your involvement with it? I have a strong curiosity about all this now, as my husband and I just got back from visiting BAS and its very fresh in my mind.

  4. BOB MORRISSEY Says:

    I want to make a correction to the web site for JOHNNY’S BOWLING ALLEY on the ARMY POST in BAD AIBLING the web site is http://www.johnny'sbowling.de/ I wish I could go there and bowl a few games .

  5. will jensby Says:

    Hi Julie – i woked with your father and knew him well. We exchanged emails up until about 5 years or so ago. i hope you are still watching this site.
    Will

  6. Julie Rhodes Says:

    Hi Will,

    Thanks for your reply. I’m thankful to Dee Mills for sending me a message on Facebook, telling me that you had written a note on this blog site. She was afraid that I might not have seen it, It’s been quite a while since I last wrote anything here.

    For some reason, your name sounds familiar, so my father must have talked about you. But I don’t remember anything more. It is amazing that you and he kept up with emails for all that time. I know he was always on the computer and even when he had to go into a nursing home in his eighties, he wanted his computer.

    We went back to BA a few years ago, as you probably read. It was a very nostalgic time, especially visiting our old home in Kleinhohenrain. Where did you live in Germany? I know we had neighbors in Groshohenrain, but can’t recall their name. Did you live near us or were you closer to the base? Since my Dad passed in 2008, I have been wanting to learn more about his work at BA. Some of my questions have been answered by a few of the BALTA folks, but I just wanted to know what he did in particular. How closely did you work with him?

    It’s nice hearing from you. Hope you and your family are enjoying the holidays. Thanks for writing.

    Julie (Young) Rhodes

    • will jensby Says:

      HI Julie – I wondered if you would see the post. Actually your Dad and i go baCK TO ABOUT 1965 WHEN WE BOTH WORKED FOR dR. HARRIS IN BLDG 190. Typing on my laptop. We both heard of the BA project and were on the first crew, as you know. We lived in BA, on the road to Rosenheim. We were often on the same shift, next to each other , each running a console, operating the satellite. i never liked the shift work. It was classified, as you know,

      We left early, mar. 1970. as i [planned to go back to Nebr to take over the faimily farm. i came back to Lockheed in 1983 and finished out my career on the Milstar program. We can use email as you have my add.

      Will

      • Debbie Holth Says:

        Dear Will, I am very curious about your above comment about Lockheed and Project Wildbore. My father, Ray G. Miller, was at BA, back and forth between the U.S. and there from about 1968-1970 or 1971 I believe. He worked for Lockheed for many years as well, and as a child I remember he would send us postcards from that area. We wrote to him at Project Wildbore. I was only about 11 years of age at that time but have had immense curiosity about it for years. Dad passed away in August 2007 taking many things with him about his career and he loved doing it all. He was unable to speak of his time there, other than the beautiful scenery which he took many pictures of, and of the great people. Any connection to my father and his career I would love to reminisce about. We loved him dearly and were very proud of his accomplishments. If you recognize his name, would you please contact me at the e-mail listed. Thanks so much – looking forward to hearing from you. Debbie Holth

  7. Will Jensby Says:

    Hi Debbie – i am trying to place your Dad, as i must have known him. It may come to me.

    Will Jensby

Comments are closed.


